Jjjuliusss - Tree House Brewing Company

Jjjuliusss

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.42/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.01 or 0.06%

Trend: 8.42/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American IPA - New England (NEIPA)

ABV: 6.80%

Season: Occasional

Have Another: 100%

370 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 8.42/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 7.9 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 8.6
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: 9
  • Canning date:08/01/22

    A: Hazed Pale Amber. Pours as a thick brew. Basically, typical look of a hazy IPA.

    S: Tropical aroma abounds. Most obvious flavor is orange among the exotic tree fruits. Solid smells.

    T: Definitely tasty and matches the aroma.

    O: Well-rounded and easy to drink even with the crazy big hop fruit-load. My only knock is a very small amount of malt forwardness. I think this recipe is a variation of Julius, which I personally find slightly more appealing.
  • 479 characters
  • Reviewed: Monday, October 03, 2022 at 22:12:40
  • Tasted: Monday, October 03, 2022
  • $0.00 for 16 oz. can
1,463 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 8.43/10 have another
  • A: 9.1 | T: 8.2 | L: 8.2 | M: 7.9 | O: 8.4
  • sDev: 0.12% Color: Gold
  • Purchased at Treehouse Brewery while on a recent family vacation. Date on can of 2020-07-25. Might be a touch past perfect primeness.

    Pours cloudy with an inch of slightly off-white, tightly packed and frothy foam. Retention is fantastic leaving waves of thick foam coating the glass from the get go. Foam never leaves the liquid top.

    Aroma is complex: mango, sweet, orange, guava, and hints of resin on the edges.

    Taste is a minor let down from the aroma. Flavors are there but more muted. Sweet orange up front, mixing with mango and guava in the middle, riding it out to the end.

    Medium body, possibly more as there is a pretty stiff carbonation that hits the back of the throat, lingering. Not really bitter or juicy. Does dry on the backend.

    Seemed to appreciate this beer more when purchased about three plus weeks ago and the beer was fresher. Still a solid offering. I would take Julius over this beer everyday but wouldn't hesitate to have this beer again.
    Enjoy!
  • 989 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 01, 2022 at 15:15:12
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 01, 2022
  • $5.00 for 16 oz. can
Beer Notes
  • For this special rendition of Julius, originally brewed for our 3rd-anniversary party, we push the level of citrusy hop character to the fringes of obscenity through additional kettle and dry hopping with the base Julius blend. Further, we amend the process of the base beer to create a denser and richer malt profile.

    Decanted carefully in a Teku glass, JJJuliusss pours thickly with a densely packed head and gives off aromas of orange juice, melon, guava, and mango gummies. The flavor follows suit, with jam-packed and satisfying juicy fruit character enveloping the palate.

    The beer is intensely citrusy when fresh, and over the course of a few weeks in the fridge softens into a supremely well-rounded, richly fruity, densely hop saturated delight - Enjoy!
Cost Breakdown
  • $5.00, 1 serving(s), 16 oz. cans
Beer Swapping