Log in Join now
Winter Solstice - Anderson Valley Brewing Company

Winter Solstice

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.00/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0 or 0%

Trend: 8.00/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Christmas/Winter Specialty Spiced Beer

ABV: 6.90%

IBU: 6

Season: Dec-Jan

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Medium Amber
  • Pours a clear medium amber with a half inch cream colored head. Spotty lacing.

    The aroma is a combination of sweet malt with a touch of spice and honey. Creamy, gentle, and inviting aromas.

    The taste is creamy and smooth, with sweet malt creating the backbone of this beer along side a light spice. A nice level of complexity on this beer as I taste a light vanilla, caramel, and cinnamon as well as a bit of dark fruit showing itself as well.

    Light body with medium carbonation. Creamy smooth mouth feel with a slightly dry finish.

    Overall I really like this beer. It is very complex without being in your face with the flavors. A very nice balance of complexity and simplicity! A great winter beer that does not go over the top with excessive spices. Try this one!
  • 780 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, January 14, 2012 at 00:54:01
  • Tasted: Saturday, January 14, 2012
  • $2.09 for 12 oz. bottle
367 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Medium Amber
  • Aroma: Inviting is the word that comes to mind with the first few sniffs. Beautiful sweet malt, lightly toasted.

    1st Taste: No disappointment, the caramel semi-sweet malt carried through to the first few mouth-fulls. Some spice, but subtle enough and balanced by the alcohol.

    Overall: I like this beer and it stands tall among it's other overwrought Holiday season ale counterparts. In my opinion it has the ingredients required of a holiday, but in balance. It really has a great personality, and I can imagine a host of pleasantly familiar flavors of the seasons (molasses, tart cherry, cinnamon, raisins, butterscotch) all peeking out of this brew. Tried this a few weeks back in a multi-brew tasting session and group consensus was mediocre. Do this brew justice and try it by itself or first in a session. Our man Adam at Star Liquors in Madison, WI is a big fan of this brew and so am I.
  • 895 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, January 15, 2010 at 23:08:04
  • Tasted: Friday, January 15, 2010
  • $1.67 for 12 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.642)
    over 69,669 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.88, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping