Log in Join now
Pumpking - Southern Tier Brewing Company

Pumpking

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 9.00/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0 or 0%

Trend: 9.00/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Spice, Herb, or Vegetable Beer

ABV: 7.90%

Season: Autumn

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Deep Gold
  • Pours a deep golden color with a copper tone. Big white foamy head that dissipates quickly leaving a thin layer of foam on top. Watery spotty lacing.

    Aroma is very pleasant. A nice mixture of pumpkin, spices, nutmeg and cinnamon. Has a sweetness to it.

    Taste has a nice hop flavor upfront and works into a tasty blend of pumpkin, nutmeg, cinnamon, and brown sugar. Reminds me of pumpkin pie with whip cream on top!

    Medium body with medium carbonation. Watery mouth feel.

    Overall a big winner in my book. One of the best pumpkin beers that I have had. Very well balanced and enjoyable. Have one on Halloween!
  • 619 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, October 28, 2011 at 18:12:10
  • Tasted: Friday, October 28, 2011
  • $6.79 for 22 oz. bottle
1,217 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Orange
  • Poured clear into a snifter. Half inch of white, bubbly foam that had low retention, becoming just a minor sheeting over the top of the beverage. A little bit of blotchy lacing.

    Aroma is a pleasant combination of nutmeg, cinnamon, and light pumpkin. Probably one of the better pumpkin beers I have had in terms of balance on the sniffer. Similar to Moms' pumpkin pie that I had a few days ago. If the taste follows: potential for a great pumpkin beer.

    Taste has hops up front and finishes with some spice and bitterness from more hops. The spices: nutmeg and cinnamon, make up the middle of the beer with the aid of pumpkin flavors to boot.

    Medium bodied with a fair and complimentary amount of carbonation. Crisp, mouth watery finish to the beer.

    At first the hops didn't agree with me but after a few more sips, the hops, spices, and pumpkin are all keenly woven into a very satisfying rue. Definitely the best pumpkin beer I have had. Glad I have an entire bomber to myself. Enjoy!
  • 998 characters
  • Reviewed: Sunday, November 29, 2009 at 17:19:05
  • Tasted: Sunday, November 29, 2009
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Cost Breakdown
  • $7.89, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Malts
  • 2-row pale, Caramel, Pureed Pumpkin
Hops
  • Magnum, Sterling