Coffee Oatmeal Imperial Stout - Terrapin Brewing Company

Coffee Oatmeal Imperial Stout

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.00/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0 or 0%

Trend: 8.00/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial Stout

ABV: 8.60%

IBU: 50

Season: November

Have Another: 100%

368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Black
  • Aroma: Maybe most original scent, ever. Huge coffee of a earthy, funky variety.

    1st Taste: Complete match on the coffee, along with roasted malt. Not sure if oats have a flavor, but there's something else there.

    Overall: I love coffee, and Terrapin done a perfect job bringing those flav's into a brew. Everthing about this makes sense and aligns. The midnight black color matchs the thick creamy feel. Coffee bite with help from 50 ibus perfectly counter balances the malt sweetness. This is one of the best coffee infused brews I've had.
  • 541 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 04, 2010 at 22:42:56
  • Tasted: Thursday, March 04, 2010
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
1,456 beers rated with a 7.85 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Black
  • Poured opaque and like 10K mile motor oil into my pint glass. An inch of brown, tightly packed foam. Retention is about average while there really is thick and sheeting.

    Aroma is built on coffee. No fancy corner street but deep old school coffee that I remember at my Grandma's place. Roasted malt and chocolate.

    Taste is sweet to start but that doesn't last at all. The big lumber comes in: roasted, chocolate, and, of course the coffee. Coffee isn't as pronounced as in the aroma. Chocolate and chocolate bitterness round out the finish. No real bite or hop bitterness in the after taste. Some coffee.

    Big body and at least medium carbonation with a bit of creaminess (due to the oats?). Alcohol, although large, doesn't play in the presentation of the beer.

    Okay, now Terrapin is exciting me a bit: their big series is much better than their year round selections. I will be back for more of their limited editions. Enjoy!
  • 941 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 04, 2010 at 22:41:22
  • Tasted: Thursday, March 04, 2010
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
Beer Swapping
Malts
  • 2- Row Pale Malt, Flaked Oats, Flaked Barley, Chocolate Malt, Black Malt & Roasted Barley
Hops
  • Chinook, Northern Brewer