Nemesis 2009 - Founders Brewing Company

Nemesis 2009

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.97/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.03 or 0.38%

Trend: 7.97/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Barleywine

ABV: 12.00%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

1,457 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 7.94/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.38% Color: Medium Amber
  • Poured clear but with a bunch of floating particles throughout. Minimal white foam that quickly became a mere collar around the glass.

    Aroma is wheat and alcohol foremost. The alcohol is hiding some bourbon, which is more like whiskey, and oak.

    Taste is slightly sweet, maple, and whiskey. The taste is definitely more whiskey than bourbon. Oak and vanilla play from the middle to the end along with butter scotch (not my favorite). There is also a whiskey presence in the finish.

    Big bodied beer with mild, at best, carbonation. A bit creamy and drying.

    I have to admit up front I expected more from this beer but I am not overly impressed. Especially with the chase that I had to give to get it. I am going to let the rest age a while and see if it smooths out the edges. Enjoy!
  • 793 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 30, 2010 at 14:01:33
  • Tasted: Thursday, December 30, 2010
  • $6.00 for 12 oz. bottle
368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.38% Color: Orange Amber
  • Maple bourbon barrel aged wheat wine is how Founders describes this brew.

    A: Uniquely orange amber with hazy and particles. Nice off white head with body but delicate and fair retention.

    S: Definate bourbon whiskey nose with some fruit notes in the background. Getting the vanilla and maybe light butterscotch.

    T: Whiskey taste upfront. There's some maple infused fruits, but hard to get a reading past the boozy flavor. A tad thick with medium to low carbonation.

    D: This is a sipper for a snifter. It doesn't have heat from the alcohol, but it's got a bourbon bite. I'm not knowledgeable enough to understand the impact of the wheat versus barleywines. The complex sweetness is totally unique, but hard to imagine drinking many of these in one session. Founders got a ton of credibility so it would be hard to over look this brew. This is a style that's seldom brewed, but mostly by high quality brewers. I like it but don't love it. Can I have a KBS next instead?
  • 970 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, June 15, 2010 at 22:49:59
  • Tasted: Tuesday, June 15, 2010
  • $6.00 for 12 oz. bottle