Log in Join now
Nicie Spicie - Short's Brewing Company

Nicie Spicie

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 5.68/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.02 or 0.35%

Trend: 5.68/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Spice, Herb, or Vegetable Beer

ABV: 5.30%

Season: Summer

Have Another: 50%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 5.70/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 6.0 | M: 5.0 | O: 5.0
  • sDev: 0.35% Color: Pale Gold
  • A-Clear gold. White foam head disappeared quickly.

    S-First impression was that it smells like an after shave lotion. I was warned, it does have Spicey in it's name. After warming and subsequant sniffs, it became more appealing. Coriander, then some lemon citrus, and then grains (Wheat?).

    T-Expected the worse and was pleasantly surprised. Mega taste inputs, but in a weird way they seem to work together. It's the most peppery brew I've had, but the wheat kinds of mutes and it helps there no sweetness. Then the lemony and orange citrus comes in.

    D-I'll admit my prejudices, and I'm a spice phobic when it comes to beer. But, this brew was much better than I excpected. The multitude of aroma and flavor notes work pretty well together. And in the end this is a fairly refreshing wheat beer, that would be enjoyable on a hot summer day. Could it dial down the coriander, YES. But, kudos to Shorts for keeping a dozen or so plates spinning together in the air.

    New tasting 9/30/2010
    Second tasting of this brew. I would not change any of my opinions from the original review. Only thing I'd change would be to rate it in the low - mid 6's.
  • 1,145 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 09, 2010 at 22:19:14
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 09, 2010
  • $1.99 for 12 oz. bottle
1,218 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 5.66/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 5.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 0.35% Color: Light Gold
  • Pours clear with a minimal white, wispy foam that quickly dissipates into nothing but a minor ring of foam on the outside glass. Lacing stays in the ring.

    Aroma is spice. Makes me think of pumpkin beers and the spicing that are used. Coriander and peppercorn come through but so does all spice and nutmeg. No hops detected.

    Taste has that cheap orange flavor that is found in orange popcicles. Spice is there and the coriander seems to be strong. A strange spicey after taste.

    Light body with a medium, maybe carbonation that has a small bite.

    I keep giving Short's a chance as they make a lot of beers that have some nice twists, but it seems that each turn leaves me more disappointed. This beer puts me right on the cusp of that feeling. Enjoy!
  • 759 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 09, 2010 at 22:10:18
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 09, 2010
  • $1.99 for 12 oz. bottle
Beer Notes
  • 50% mixture of premium two-row malted barley and malted white wheat makes this gorgeous golden beer balanced to support bold spiciness. This ale is loaded with fresh citrus zest, coriander, and a four pepper blend.
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.99, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping