Log in Join now
Black Licorice Lager - Short's Brewing Company

Black Licorice Lager

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 6.38/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.56 or 8.78%

Trend: 6.38/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Dark Lager

ABV: 8.00%

Season: One-Time

Have Another: 50%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 6.94/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 6.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 8.78% Color: Black
  • A: Black as a moonless midnight in the woods. Dark tan foam with medium retention.

    S: Licorice and malt. Simple but attractive.

    T: Smoky malt mixes interestingly with the licorice. Some molassess sweetness. 2BDs agreed there was almost a minty aftertaste. Medium light mouthfeel. Good level of carbonation.

    D: I need to try this again. It's very unusual. There's nothing wrong or off-putting about the beer. The licorice kinds of dominates, so it's hard to find complexity to enjoy. And there's something about the lingering flavor note that I'm unsure about. But, a grand experiment none the less.
  • 603 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 30, 2010 at 22:20:05
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 30, 2010
  • $1.99 for 12 oz. bottle
1,217 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 5.82/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 5.0 | O: 5.0
  • sDev: 8.78% Color: Black
  • Pours opaque but I think it is cloudy too. A brown, inch of foam quickly disappears leaving just a touch of lacing.

    Aroma is a lot of licorice and that is about all I could sense. It also gave the sense, at time of a stout.

    Taste is some malt with a touch of sweetness, then some smokey malt mixes with the licorice to give a sense of peppermint. Strange.

    Medium body with about the same amount of carbonation. Slowly dries the palate.

    The peppermint taste is not my thing, I actually don't like it all. It does leave the mouth with a clean feeling. Not a horrible just not something that I need again. Enjoy!
  • 620 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 30, 2010 at 22:17:24
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 30, 2010
  • $1.99 for 12 oz. bottle
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.99, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Highest Rated Similar Beers