Palo Santo Marron - Dogfish Head Craft Brewed Ales

Palo Santo Marron

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.26/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.44 or 6.06%

Trend: 7.26/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Brown Ale

ABV: 12.00%

IBU: 50

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 7.70/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 6.06% Color: Deep Brown
  • Pours a thick deep brown color with a half inch tan head. Thick even lacing on the edges of the glass.

    Aroma is strong and complex. I am getting some sweet molasses, roasted malts, dark fruits, and chocolate with a hint of smoke.


    Taste is a punch of complex flavors. I am getting a smooth sweet vanilla upfront that works into a sweet molasses with a bit of chocolate and dark fruits. The warmth of the alcohol really hits you at the end.

    Mouth feel is milky and smooth, full bodied with medium carbonation.

    I am really enjoying this beer, but is a bit too rich for me. It has a lot of layers of complexity and is very interesting, but it may be a little bit too much for my liking, but it is still a really tasty interesting beer. Between the high abv and the richness, I would really only want one of these and call it a night.
  • 840 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 01:05:40
  • Tasted: Saturday, May 21, 2011
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
1,405 beers rated with a 7.87 average
  • 6.82/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 6.06% Color: Deep Brown
  • Pours slightly clear but mostly opaque with a nice three inch of mocha, thick foam. Retention is about average while the foam froths up nicely. Lacing is a bit more than spotty and sticky.

    Aroma is deep for a brown ale, yet subtle overall. Dark fruits, nut, sweetness, roast, and a few others, one of them seemingly some type of wood.

    Taste is almost all malt up front: sweet, dark, and hammers the senses. The middle and end bring on big dark fruits and a bit of a strange flavor(s) I am not used too. Ends with a little bit of booze.

    Big body with medium carbonation. The big sugars up front coat which seems to fade by the end of the sip.

    Definitely an interesting brew. Something about it though just left me wanting. I think the stickiness on my lips that made them hard to separate could have aided in that feeling. A big brown for the sake of being a big brown? Some of the mixture of flavors was strange. Enjoy!
  • 934 characters
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, April 13, 2011 at 21:33:18
  • Tasted: Wednesday, April 13, 2011
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.968)
    over 95,544 ratings
Beer Swapping