Log in Join now
Strawberry Short's Cake - Short's Brewing Company

Strawberry Short's Cake

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.57/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.59 or 7.79%

Trend: 7.57/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Spice, Herb, or Vegetable Beer

ABV: 5.00%

Season: Occassionally

Have Another: 100%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 6.98/10 have another
  • A: 5.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 7.79% Color: Pale Amber
  • A:

    S: Slightly funky is initial thought, but more likely milk sugar, and faint strawberry notes in the background. Not sure I am a fan of the aroma.

    T: Holy shit, it totally tastes like strawberry shortcake, or at least strawberry and cream. But, all is held in check so it's not over the top. It's creamy but not sweet and rather dry. The strawberries are there, but more as a esscence than some large fruit flavor. Kind of a little thin after you get past the milk sugar.

    O: Very interesting and I would think it shows a very skilled brewer. You must admire how the elements of cream, sugar, and strawberry come together, but not overwrought. Now it's not something you'd drink over an extended session, but it's a real novelty to add to a multi brew tasting. You've got to try this.
  • 790 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 11, 2011 at 22:46:37
  • Tasted: Thursday, August 11, 2011
  • $2.49 for 12 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 8.16/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 7.79% Color: 5
  • Aroma: "Huh" I get... sweet milkyness. The label says milk sugar. The aroma has me thinking, what's this smell like?

    Look: Transparent gold with a coating of thin lace across entire beer.

    Taste: Well I'll be, it tastes like strawberries! Damn.

    Incredibly tight bubble, heavy crisp carbonation. And after that carbonation bite, strawberries. Clean strawberries. Nothing weird or vegetal, grassy. Just a dry strawberry.

    Theory, this beer is dry because milk sugar ferments out which also explains the tight carbonation bubbles. Very clean. Very nice.

    This is novelty beer, maybe one of the best? It could be a desert by itself. It could compliment a desert (no to rich though). It couldn't be drank as a six pack, unless you can eat an entire rich cake by itself- no milk. It may be the dessert beer to beat.
  • 838 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 11, 2011 at 22:43:45
  • Tasted: Thursday, August 11, 2011
  • $2.49 for 12 oz. bottle