Sweet Action - Sixpoint Craft Ales

Sweet Action

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.27/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.27 or 3.26%

Trend: 8.27/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Cream Ale

ABV: 5.20%

IBU: 34

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.54/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 3.26% Color: Deep Gold
  • Pours a cloudy deep golden color with a thick two finger white frothy head. The head dissipates after a few minutes and leaves a thin layer of white foam resting on top. Lacing starts even before the first sip. Lots of thick sticky lacing sheets the sides of the glass.

    The aroma is very nice. A blend of sweet caramel malts with a nice citrus and floral hop.

    The taste is very similar to what you would expect after enjoying the aroma. A sweet caramel malt character starts things off with a gentle hop presence that builds toward the middle and finishes with a nice blend of creamy sweet malt and a crisp citrus hop.

    Medium body with light to medium carbonation. Creamy and smooth mouth feel with a sweetness on the lips and a slight dryness on the palate. A very easy drinking beer.

    Overall, an impressive cream ale. This is not a style that I would normally gravitate to, but I was glad that I tried this beer. Easily the best cream ale that I have ever had! The hop presence in the beer really makes this beer shine! This is the first beer that I have had from Sixpoint and I am impressed. Looking forward to trying more of what they have to offer. Try one!
  • 1,176 characters
  • Reviewed: Monday, April 30, 2012 at 00:31:19
  • Tasted: Monday, April 30, 2012
  • $2.49 for 16 oz. can
1,420 beers rated with a 7.86 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 3.26% Color: Gold
  • Pours clear with a nice, thick, off-white, frothy foam. Retention is above average with a stiffening of the foam as it meanders away. Lacing is thick, dry, and very sticky.

    Aroma of spice hops with sweet malt background. Floral and citrus are hidden but add a pleasantness to the beer.

    Taste is sweet but there is a hop presence there too. The sweetness is there throughout with a bit of bread/grain flavors in the end and into the finish. Hops are highlighted by a citrus finish that lingers. Lights spice and floral hops too.

    Medium body with almost no carbonation but the beer doesn't seem to need it since there a creaminess. Dry.

    Knowing this beer was a cream ale, I wasn't all that excited to try. It pushes the boundaries of the style with the hop profile which is good. The sweetness was a bit much for me. Enjoy!
  • 834 characters
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, October 12, 2011 at 22:07:33
  • Tasted: Wednesday, October 12, 2011
  • $0.00 for 16 oz. can
Untappd
  • (3.475)
    over 21,649 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $2.49, 1 serving(s), 16 oz. cans
Beer Swapping