Snowbunny Ale - Hub City Brewing Company

Snowbunny Ale

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 6.15/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.25 or 4.07%

Trend: 6.15/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Cream Ale

Season: Winter

Have Another: 50%

1,316 beers rated with a 7.86 average
  • 5.90/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 5.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 5.0 | O: 5.0
  • sDev: 4.07% Color: Amber
  • Pours with a slight haze while almost an inch of light tan, thick foam coats the liquid. Retention is average on the outside while lacing is juicy and thick, quickly receding back.

    Aroma is straight forward cream ale: bready malt, grass hops, and some sweet grains.

    Taste seemed to be a bit surprising. There was a creamy, teetering on a cream soda type of flavor that really built from the middle to the end. Not much else there as I didn't take another sip.

    Light body with a good amount of carbonation.

    The taste did this beer in for me. I don't want a beer that makes me think of soda pop. My first beer from Iowa won't deter me from trying something else. Enjoy!
  • 680 characters
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, January 04, 2012 at 21:01:48
  • Tasted: Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • $1.89 for 12 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 6.40/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 6.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 4.07% Color: Medium Amber
  • Pours a slightly hazy orange, pink, amber with a creamy white head. The head dissipates quickly, leaving a thin layer of tightly formed bubbles floating on top. Very little lacing.

    Aroma is creamy and sweet. I am getting grain, bready malts and a hint of vanilla.

    On the taste I am getting a big caramel malt flavor that lasts all the way to the finish. Starts sweet and keeps going to the finish. A big blast of vanilla on the finish reminds me of a cream soda.

    Light body with light carbonation. Creamy, but at the same time seems watery. Finishes with a sweet stickiness.

    Overall an interesting beer. It is enjoyable, but seems a little bit too sweet, almost like a desert beer. The flavors seem fake to me. Like it has flavoring syrup in it, which seems odd. Too sweet to drink more than one in a session. Worth a try if you have a sweet tooth!
  • 864 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, December 09, 2011 at 21:21:51
  • Tasted: Friday, December 09, 2011
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.186)
    over 102 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.89, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Highest Rated Similar Beers