Log in Join now
Commodore Perry - Great Lakes Brewing Company

Commodore Perry

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 6.50/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.5 or 7.69%

Trend: 6.50/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American IPA

ABV: 7.50%

IBU: 80

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 7.00/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 7.69% Color: Deep Gold
  • Pours a deep golden color with a quarter inch head. Head has good retention with nice lacing.

    Aroma is strong and not what I was expecting from an IPA. I am getting lots of yeast, bread and grain type aromas mixed with a citrus hops.

    Taste is nice and grows on me as I am drinking it. I am getting a nice balance between the light sweet malt body and citrus hop finish. This beer starts out strong with the bread and malt type character and works in to a citrus hops with a bitter on the finish.

    Mouthfeel is rich and creamy. Medium body with medium carbonation.

    Overall I am enjoying this beer. The aroma is a very unique to me, as I am not used to the strong malt and bread mixed with the citrus. This is not a style that I have had very often with an IPA and I am enjoying the change.
  • 800 characters
  • Reviewed: Monday, May 30, 2011 at 01:12:51
  • Tasted: Monday, May 30, 2011
  • $1.99 for 12 oz. bottle
1,218 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 6.00/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 6.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 7.69% Color: Gold
  • Poured clear with a big, white, fluffy foam. Fair amount of retention and some lacing. I was expecting an amber color.

    Aroma is of bready malt with a touch of sweet caramel malt. Malt scents are balanced by citrus hops.

    The taste starts off with bready, grainy malts. Finishes with citrus, grapefruit hops. Some bitterness that lingers.

    Light carbonation and mouthfeel with slight oiliness.

    Good but not great. Has a little twist: big bready malt both on the nose and palate. This isn't something I expected. If you like malty IPAs, then by all means, find yourself some. If you like smooth or fairly hoppy IPAs, don't know if you will find it all that appealing. Enjoy!
  • 684 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 27, 2009 at 18:46:12
  • Tasted: Thursday, August 27, 2009
  • $1.75 for 12 oz. bottle