Log in Join now
Bière De Mars - Jolly Pumpkin Artisan Ales

Bière De Mars

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 9.15/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.39 or 4.25%

Trend: 9.15/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Bière de Garde

ABV: 7.00%

Season: Spring

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 9.58/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 4.70% Color: Dark Amber
  • Looking forward to trying this one. I have not had many sours and the few that I have had have been really good. Thanks for sharing this one Scot.

    Pours a dark cloudy amber with a think quarter inch white head. Low retention with the head dissipating quickly leaving just a think ring of white foam around the edges of the glass. Very little lacing.

    Aroma is awesome. The sour comes out in the aroma, I am getting a sour citrus with a bit of oak mixed in.

    Taste is sour on the limps and palette. Delicious! A nice sour apple and citrus flavor with a large oak flavor with a hint of spice on the backend. Smooth and refreshing. Dry on the palate.

    Medium body with medium to high carbonation.

    Overall, I would say this is another winner in the sour world! Very nice well balanced beer with a nice level of complexity. Try one if you like sour beer!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 02, 2011 at 21:51:58
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 02, 2011
  • $15.99 for 750 ml bottle
360 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.64/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 5.57% Color: Medium Amber
  • A: Dark copper, almost brown. Light off-white foam, quickly fades.

    S: Oaky, fruity, with a faint sourness. Results in a unique profile.

    T: Tart and crazy fresh. Funky, slightly sour, green apples, a little cherry. Don't get too much malt, but maybe I need to acclamate to the sourness.

    D: Extremely drinkable. Moves beer into another level of conscieness. The freshness quotent is sky high, oak brings in layers of complexity and personality. There's the funkiness and sourness that take some time to aquire the taste of. Very bracing sour, totally unique.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 22, 2010 at 23:11:27
  • Tasted: Thursday, July 22, 2010
  • $12.99 for 750 ml bottle
1,181 beers rated with a 7.80 average
  • 9.24/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.98% Color: Brown
  • Poured cloudy with enormous amount of off-white foam that was thick and velvety. Good retention and nice lacing.

    First scents from the bottle made me believe I was opening a bottle of wine. I know nothing about wine so I can't say the type of wine. Dried tart fruit, vanilla, a huge hit of oak, with a splash of malt.

    Taste is very similar to the aroma. There is the usual funk, sourness that most Jolly Pumpkin has. Hints of spice, earthiness, oak, and vanilla are to found also. Sour apple is a good way to define the funk.

    Light, medium body and medium carbonation work like a pendulum in a clock for a very rhythmic and drinkable brew. Drying on the palate due to oak.

    Smooth to say the least. Refreshing. One of the better Jolly Pumpkin has to offer that I have tasted (this is about number 7 or 8). The amount of tartness/sourness is perfect to allow drinking on a hot day without killing the palate. Enjoy!

    Edited on Thursday, July 22, 2010.
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, September 08, 2009 at 09:02:22
  • Tasted: Tuesday, September 08, 2009
  • $12.90 for 750 ml bottle