Mystic Mama - Jackie O's Pub & Brewery

Mystic Mama

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.02/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.95 or 11.79%

Trend: 8.02/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American India Pale Ale

ABV: 7.00%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.94/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 11.47% Color: Pale Gold
  • A: Light side of Pale Gold spectrum with a slight haze. White, soft, very full head of foam. Height was tall, lasted for a while and lcaed y=the glass.

    S: Refreshingly fruity, with grassy and herbal notes. Malt comes in with biscuit.

    T: Tropical, citrus, & pineapple sweetness. Only bitterness is pink grapefruit. I really like the malt and hops balance in this beer, makes it juicey in a dry blend of WC / NE style IPA. Medium mouthfeel, and slightly resinous.

    O: Well regarded brewery that I've only sporadically been able score beers to taste....never one of their IPA's. And after sampling Mystic Mama I am wondering why I've not more aggressively pursued beers from Jackie O's. I've been lucky to have access to many good IPS's, and I would put this beer in my Top 20, for sure.
  • 791 characters
  • Reviewed: Sunday, February 19, 2017 at 21:20:53
  • Tasted: Sunday, February 19, 2017
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. can
8 beers rated with a 8.92 average
  • 8.40/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 4.74% Color: Pale gold
  • Given to me by a beer dude. Clear pale gold color, good retention and placing. Strong hop presence on the smell, not as strong on the taste. Slight bitterness with a mild citrus presence. Not the best Jackie O's pale ale I've had, but a pretty good one.
  • 253 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, January 20, 2017 at 10:34:59
  • Tasted: Friday, January 20, 2017
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. can
1,457 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 6.72/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 16.21% Color: Pale Yellow
  • Pours clear with a half inch of pure white foam. Retention is average. Lacing is spotty, mostly sliding back to level.

    Aroma is hops: grass, lemon, and citrus. No malt profile to speak of - easily apparent by the color: base malt, not much else?

    Taste once again lacks much in the way of malt. Possibly a nod towards sweetness. Bitter in the finish, not smooth: a bit rough. Grass and lemon are strong in the finish. Citrus is mellow.

    Light end of medium body. Spritzy carbonation. Doesn't dry the mouth as much as a typical ipa.

    An okay beer. The hop profile and the lack of malt backbone leave me wanting. I would call it more of a pale ale than a india pale ale. Not a bad beer, not great, nothing makes it stand out. There are much better offerings in the style and from Jackie O's. Enjoy!
  • 811 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, January 17, 2017 at 16:16:29
  • Tasted: Tuesday, January 17, 2017
  • $1.79 for 12 oz. can
Untappd
  • (3.830)
    over 49,883 ratings
Beer Notes
  • Amarillo, Simcoe, and Centennial hops give this beer tons of great flavors of grapefruit, tangerines, and pine.
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.79, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. cans
Beer Swapping