Log in Join now
Dino S'Mores - Off Color Brewing

Dino S'Mores

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.02/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.19 or 2.71%

Trend: 7.02/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Russian Imperial Stout

ABV: 10.50%

IBU: 40

Season: Winter

Have Another: 50%

367 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 6.83/10 have another
  • A: 5.5 | T: 6.9 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.5 | O: 7.6
  • sDev: 2.71% Color: DEEP BROWN
  • Quickie review: I've always like Off Color. This beer was decent. Easy drinking Imperial Stout, alcohol is hidden. Black malt chalky, get molasses...maybe too much. No vanilla. Biggest sin is that just not enough personality.
  • 225 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, March 27, 2020 at 21:52:55
  • Tasted: Friday, March 27, 2020
  • $3.50 for 16 oz. can
1,272 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 7.21/10 have another
  • A: 5.8 | T: 7.2 | L: 9.4 | M: 8.9 | O: 7.4
  • sDev: 2.71% Color: Black
  • Pours opaque with a finger of mocha foam. Retention is fleeting. Sporadic lacing that mostly cedes back.

    Aroma is surprisingly faint for the style. Roast is the most prominent and possibly only aroma. Molasses, graham cracker, and hints of sweetness.

    Taste of dark, roasted malt. Graham cracker and lactose thickness and sweetness. No hints of alcohol.

    Big body here. Medium carbonation. Dry.

    Expected more from the nose: too one dimensional. The taste is mute as well but shines brighter than the nose. I expected this beer to be amazing as the bourbon aged version is out of site. It is a good beer but there are so many other beers that need my attention before it would be turned here again.
  • 710 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, March 27, 2020 at 21:33:53
  • Tasted: Friday, March 27, 2020
  • $0.00 for 16 oz. can
Untappd
  • (4.030)
    over 48,828 ratings
Beer Notes
  • Amager Bryghus and West Lakeview Liquors Collaboration

    When we launched BorrachaBaker made us some s'mores shaped like dinosaurs for our launch event. Then, we made an imperial stout with graham flour, marshmallow fluff, vanilla, and cocoa nibs with Amager and West Lakeview Liquors. Then, we brought this beer to the Brewpub Shootout and paired the beer named after the food with a food the beer wasn't named after. People were confused and named it best beer (or was it food?) at the Shootout.
Cost Breakdown
  • $3.50, 1 serving(s), 16 oz. cans
Beer Swapping
Malts
  • Pale, Vienna, Wheat, Cara II, Extra Special, Flaked Oats, Dark Chocolate, Black, Roasted Barley
Hops
  • Nugget