Pullman Brown - Flossmoor Station Restaurant & Brewery

Pullman Brown

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.50/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.5 or 5.88%

Trend: 8.50/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Brown Ale

ABV: 6.00%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 5.88% Color: Deep brown
  • Had many different brews over the days around Xmas. In vac mood and didn't take note, but working back into the habit. Esp. for one of the brews that stand out amoung many.

    Aroma: Roasted malt and a coffee sweetness.

    First taste: Brewer knocked the ball out of the park with this one. I was immediatelt hit with a slightly smoky, ,molasses tasting brown ale that takes the style to the top.

    Overall: Not everybody likes browns and porters. It's historically the poor man's brew and can be easy to make. But, as I've remarked before, I recalled a Cream Porter from Canada years ago and love any sweet brown. But, this Flossmoor creation is complex and balanced. I assume molasses with liberally used and addes huge depth of taste, but at the same time highly hopped balanced off. Nicely carbonated, approriate alcohol level, and medium mouthfeel make this a beer I could drink often in winter months. In a word, it's delicious. No wonder it's won so may times at the GABF. The only problem is Flossmoor's limited distribution capacity.
  • 1,038 characters
  • Reviewed: Sunday, December 27, 2009 at 17:23:49
  • Tasted: Sunday, December 27, 2009
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,387 beers rated with a 7.87 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 5.88% Color: Dark Brown
  • Poured into my snifter with a beautiful one-finger, tan foam. Retention was minimal as it quickly and completely disappeared. No lacing. When the foam was on the beer, it was fine looking.

    Aroma first impression was lots of roasted malt. Sweetness from molasses, some coffee maybe even chocolate, slight nuttiness and alcohol.

    Just like the aroma the taste has a bunch of flavors. Coffee and chocolate seem to be the aftertaste while the beer itself gives sensations of molasses, roasted malt, coffee, chocolate, and nuts. A complex ensemble.

    Medium body with a thick mouth feel and mild carbonation. A hearty brown with a touch of creaminess.

    I haven't had many browns but if they are all as good or even better than Pullman then as frolic through the style I will be in for some tasty treats. Enjoy!
  • 813 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, October 30, 2009 at 17:04:11
  • Tasted: Friday, October 30, 2009
  • $6.49 for 22 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.577)
    over 2,043 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $7.74, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping