Log in Join now
Huma-Lupa-Licious IPA - Short's Brewing Company

Huma-Lupa-Licious IPA

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.35/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.65 or 7.78%

Trend: 8.35/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American IPA

ABV: 6.60%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 7.70/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 7.78% Color: Medium Amber
  • A: Cider like amber, with a solid haze. Pearly, off-white thick foam with decent retention.

    S: Grassy or earthy upfront then some fruit scents, hard to find the citrus or pine.

    T: Carmel and toasted malts. Very subdued sweetness, along with a subtle hop bite. Very soft touch. Good carbonation and medium mouthfeel.

    D: Very drinkable. It's a reserved IPA, without any huge personality points. All flavors and attributes are in check. Not sure of the hops used, but my taste could use a little more citrus profile. But don't get me wrong I could drink this anytime. Solid brew.
  • 580 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, October 14, 2010 at 22:11:28
  • Tasted: Thursday, October 14, 2010
  • $1.89 for 12 oz. bottle
1,217 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 7.78% Color: Amber
  • Poured cloudy a became the first beer to fill my 20 oz snifter up with frothy, slightly off-white, sticky foam. So much foam the beer couldn't help but have retention and lacing.

    Aroma hits me first with citrus hops and a earthiness from the malt (I served around 45 degrees, maybe that had something to do with it). Grapefruit citrus mainly with some hints of pine hops and sweet.

    Sweet up front on the taste then the rest is all hops. Grapefruit and pine hops throughout. Not a palate killer as it is better balanced than that but nonetheless packed with flavor, aroma, and bitterness.

    Medium body and carbonation with a stickiness from the hops that makes it just a little bit chewy.

    This is a really good IPA. I have to thank Rich for bringing one back and sharing from his recent trip to Detroit. If you are in Michigan, do your homework, know where you can get Shorts, and try this along with some of their other offerings. Enjoy!
  • 947 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, November 10, 2009 at 21:52:39
  • Tasted: Tuesday, November 10, 2009
  • $1.50 for 12 oz. bottle