Log in Join now
John John Dead Guy - Rogue Ale Brewery

John John Dead Guy

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 9.00/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0 or 0%

Trend: 9.00/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Maibock/Helles Bock

ABV: 6.40%

IBU: 40

Season: Winter

Have Another: 100%

1,271 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Dark Gold
  • Poured clear and aggressively into my glass leaving a foam, thick and white, five times as tall as the liquid. Retention was good while the lacing was sticky and thick from the get go.

    Aroma is toffee sweet. Vanilla and wood scents are nice in the beer. Hops are there but I am having a hard time placing them.

    Wow! I didn't know what to expect so this was a pleasant surprise. Oak and vanilla come through all the way through with the oak taking the spotlight. Oak even in the aftertaste. There is definitely a malt backbone that is both sweet and bready. Slight hop bitterness to the finish.

    Medium body and light carbonation (maybe a little more) that is accented by a creaminess that really compliments.

    I had a chance to but this beer and, I have to admit, I am not a Rogue fan but so glad that Rich picked it up and shared. The oak flavor and aroma subtleties add a nice level of complexity that I completely appreciate. Enjoy!
  • 947 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, January 23, 2010 at 23:15:53
  • Tasted: Saturday, January 23, 2010
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle
367 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Medium Amber
  • Aroma: Really,really good. Soft oak, vanilla, and orchard fruits.

    1st Taste: Mellow, vanilla, cream sweet, and the faintest of wood.

    Overall: Is this from heaven? No, it's from Oregon. Big flavor, coming at you from a gabillion angles, and it all comes together is a single satisfying flavor. I don't want to cheapen your experience with this beer, so you deceide on the flavors...when you drink it. This is in the running for my new favorite beer, 'nuff said. Get it now.
  • 474 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, January 23, 2010 at 23:04:20
  • Tasted: Saturday, January 23, 2010
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.680)
    over 3,492 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $9.99, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Malts
  • Carastan, Rogue Micro-Barley Farm Dare & Risk
Hops
  • Saaz, Willamette, Rogue Micro-Farm Hop Yard Revolution
Yeast
  • Pacman