Log in Join now
Maibock - Fort Collins Brewery

Maibock

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.76/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.05 or 0.63%

Trend: 7.76/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Maibock/Helles Bock

ABV: 6.30%

IBU: 34

Season: Spring

Have Another: 67%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 7.76/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Deep Amber
  • Found this beer at my local liquor store. Looking forward to trying it as I have never had this style before.

    Pours a deep amber with nice a two inch head. Medium retention with spotty lacing.

    Aroma is mellow with mostly bready toasted caramel malt.

    Taste is really mellow. The taste is very similar to the aroma. Lots of bready caramel malt. A sweetness with a mellow grain.

    Medium body low carbonation. Mouth feel is a little bit sticky and sweet.

    Overall it is not too bad.. Since this is the first time with this style beer I am not sure I am a big fan of the style. I would like to try another maibock from another brewery just to get another perspective on this style. I would have this again, but maybe on a cold winterâ??s night.
  • 764 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 21, 2011 at 22:38:21
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 21, 2011
  • $6.99 for 22 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 7.70/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.77% Color: 11
  • Medium amber, thinnest head with slightest cling to edge of glass.

    Aroma: Heavy toasted bread. That's sort of it.

    Taste: Surprisingly heavy toast. Big bread. Little to no hop- which is to style. Low carbonation, lightish body- all to style.

    To style, no complaints. Not a go-to beer, but can't complain. I would drink this over most winter warmer beers.

    Shrugs...
  • 375 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 21, 2011 at 22:36:03
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 21, 2011
  • $6.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,271 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 7.82/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.77% Color: Amber
  • Pours clear with a two finger, off-white foam. Retention is a bit better than average. Lacing is minimal at best.

    Aroma is bread, toasted, caramel malt. No hops that I can really find.

    Taste sort of follows the aroma. Toast, bread, and caramel that add a bit of sweetness to the beer. Hops are present for some balance but not a profile I can make out.

    Medium body with light carbonation.

    The mild sweetness makes me like this beer as the combination of malts is pleasantly solid. I would have this again. Maibocks in small doses make me happy. Enjoy!
  • 563 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 21, 2011 at 22:34:40
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 21, 2011
  • $6.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.471)
    over 1,451 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $6.99, 3 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping