Diabolical India Pale Ale - North Peak Brewing Company

Diabolical India Pale Ale

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.45/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.79 or 10.6%

Trend: 7.45/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American India Pale Ale

ABV: 6.66%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

370 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 8.24/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 10.60% Color: Medium Amber
  • A-Bright, but deep orange amber. Nice full head of off-white tiny bubbles of medium retention. And medium amount of lacing.

    S-Rich tree fruit, caramel, and bready maltiness. .

    T-Fresh, hop bite, very fair malt sweetness.Definately get spiciness, light fruit, and a soft caramel taste. Medium mouthfeel, sort of creamy and strongly carbonated.

    D-This brews got it own personality, and I like it. I don't want to oversell it's uniqueness, but it's a worthy IPA, has a nice hop profile, and definately in my Top 25 favs. There's a complexity that makes it interesting. Perhaps not all flav notes are perfect, but it's absolutely sessionable.
  • 642 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 09, 2010 at 21:56:45
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 09, 2010
  • $1.50 for 12 oz. bottle
1,463 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 6.66/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 10.60% Color: Gold
  • Poured with a huge amount of of white foam that was first bubbly and loose, becoming frothy as it recedes. Lacing is very sticky and web like. Good looking in the glass.

    Aroma is hops: fruity, citrus, and hidden spice. Sweet malt is there for balance. Alcohol, even though not that high, burn my nostrils a bit when inhaling deeply. A nice scent but just not enough of it.

    Taste has some sweet up front followed by the hops. No real distinct hop flavor outside of a lasting and high bitterness.

    Light in the mouth feel with ample carbonation along side a viscous, almost creaminess at times.

    The best part about this beer is the pour after that it just sort of loses it. There isn't much balance to this beer in terms of the bitter aftertaste. The aroma has the makings of a good one, just not enough of it finds my hairy nostrils. Enjoy!
  • 854 characters
  • Reviewed: Monday, March 29, 2010 at 21:00:11
  • Tasted: Monday, March 29, 2010
  • $1.81 for 12 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.672)
    over 36,776 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.66, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping