The Dominator Dopplebock - O'so Brewing Company

The Dominator Dopplebock

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.77/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.17 or 1.94%

Trend: 8.77/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Doppelbock

ABV: 8.20%

Season: February

Have Another: 100%

368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.60/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 1.94% Color: Amber-Brown
  • Rich ruby brown, slight off white head quickly gone. Awesome fruit orchard aroma, very inviting and refreshing.

    Deep and thick dark fruits and then a nice, comfortable alcohol warmth.

    We don't often venture into lagers., this one is totally big and complex. A whole bunch of flavors of plums, molasses, hints of spice, sweetness, and bready. I'd say there's reference to a port, but that would incorrectly distract from the obvious beerness of this lager. Not what I expected, but I mean that in a very positive sense. On the one hand it's heavy, but I'd also call it somewhat refeshing. Big Scot points out that these german style with their big malt that get balances with flavors other than huge hops make for interesting tasting variation. A seasonal release from a small brewery makes it hard to find, but seek this one out.
  • 832 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 15, 2010 at 22:22:31
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 15, 2010
  • $3.19 for 12 oz. bottle
1,457 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 8.94/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 1.94% Color: Brown
  • Pours clear as is expected for a lager. A half inch, off-white foam quickly recedes leaving a mere ring around the edges. Lacing began when the glass tipped and was very sporadic and sticky actually

    Aroma is full of nice dark fruits and some alcohol. Up front and in your face with the scent: I could take a bath in it. Good.

    Taste is sweet to begin. Becomes dark fruit and malty. Alcohol warms on the way down.

    Medium body, maybe more, with slightly less carbonation.

    The alcohol is known but still a drinkable beer. Sweetness is up there but it is a malt bomb and it delivers. As I try more O'so beers I am beginning to think this brewery is a hidden gem in the middle of Wisconsin. Enjoy!
  • 705 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 15, 2010 at 22:17:41
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 15, 2010
  • $3.19 for 12 oz. bottle