Singapore IPA - Saugatuck Brewing Company

Singapore IPA

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.24/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0 or 0%

Trend: 8.24/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American India Pale Ale

ABV: 7.00%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.24/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Straw
  • Aroma/Look: Attractive citrusy and faint floral scent. Thick, off-white head of medium thickness, somewhat whipped egg white like.

    1st Taste: Refreshing fruit taste, of medium thickness, and hop bite is present but blends into the flavors very well.

    Overall: Surprise from a small brewery, this is a really, solid IPA. It skews to the large size of IPAs, but not in a boastfull or in your face way. I am a fan of this grapefruity flavor mixed with clean sugar malts.Very drinkable and I'd put up against any of the West Coast big boys. Finished dry outs with this big hop profile. Luckily we live close enough to West Michigan to get more brew from this small wonder.
  • 670 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 21:11:35
  • Tasted: Thursday, May 20, 2010
  • $5.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,457 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 8.24/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Straw
  • Pours clear with a ton of white, frothy foam. Retention is nice while leaving behind some web-like, sticky lacing.

    Aroma is sweet with a fruit, citrus hop presence. Slightly resinous.

    Taste is built on the sweet malt while the hops is strongly represented. Citrus (grapefruit) hops is the most dominant. Lemon and pine help the other citrus hops to leave a bitter bite but one that doesn't bite to hard or long.

    Medium body with about the same carbonation.

    Okay, I have to admit that I was pleasantly surprised by this beer as I didn't expect much. Maybe a little too much of big hopper in order to throw back a few. I split it with Rich and half a bomber seemed about right. Enjoy!
  • 694 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 21:03:57
  • Tasted: Thursday, May 20, 2010
  • $5.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.498)
    over 21,048 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $5.99, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping