Log in Join now
Hop in the Dark - Deschutes Brewery

Hop in the Dark

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.47/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.05 or 0.59%

Trend: 8.47/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American IPA

ABV: 6.50%

IBU: 77

Season: May to September

Have Another: 100%

358 beers rated with a 7.92 average
  • 8.42/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • sDev: 0.59% Color: Deep Brown
  • Updated: 6/9/12

    A: Nothing out of the ordinary. Nice deep brown color. Foam head was semi-thick, tan with medium sticky lacing.

    S:Very subtle notes. Light grain/malt and a faint hop aroma. But yet it's appealing. (UpDt-There's more grapefruity and pine and spice than I detected 2-yrs ago)

    T: Dry and crisp, with almost no malt sweetness. The hops have a bitterness. that build very slowly Very light but complex notes of flavor. Some coffee, grapefruit, burnt caramel, and a little pine. A little alcohol upfront, then pretty much hidden. (UpDt: No alcohol , and malt sweet is just low...like bitter chocolate, otherwise my older description stands)

    D: Really, really unique brew. Not sure I've had anything close in terms of how fresh and dry, and at the same time complex. This is a top tier brew in terms of craftmanship and innovation. (UpDt: I'd changr my summary statement on this brew to, "excellent level of craft artisanship combos into perfect flv meld", rather than "reallyx2 unique". But stil a top shelf choice....anytime.)
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 08, 2010 at 21:30:32
  • Tasted: Thursday, July 08, 2010
  • $5.49 for 22 oz. bottle
1,169 beers rated with a 7.80 average
  • 8.52/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.59% Color: Black
  • Poured opaque with an inch of mocha, thick foam. Retention wasn't great and the lacing was thin, sticky, and a little bit better than spotty.

    Aroma has some nice citrus and pine hops with malt, roasted malt, even some coffee eventually. Light overall on the nose.

    Taste has burnt, roasted, and dark malt that last throughout. Some coffee bitterness lasts into the finish. A nice, crisp citrus hop profile starts in the middle and lasts until the end.

    Mouth is medium body with a medium-light carbonation. Dries the mouth a little.

    A well put together beer of an up and coming new style. I am curious to see how the style progresses, hopefully finding some that is better than this beer, but it will be tough. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 08, 2010 at 21:18:29
  • Tasted: Thursday, July 08, 2010
  • $5.49 for 22 oz. bottle