Odell IPA - Odell Brewing Company

Odell IPA

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 6.03/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.09 or 1.49%

Trend: 6.03/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American India Pale Ale

ABV: 7.00%

IBU: 60

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 6.12/10 have another
  • A: 5.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 1.49% Color: Gold
  • Quick comments: Date stamp on bottle said 9/17/2010, but we're convinced the bottle wasn't fresh. For an IPA, aromas and flavors were very muted. Nothing wrong with beer, but not many flavors other than hop bitterness to call out. Need to try again.
  • 249 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 22, 2010 at 22:15:39
  • Tasted: Thursday, July 22, 2010
  • $1.99 for 12 oz. bottle
1,457 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 5.94/10 have another
  • A: 5.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 1.49% Color: Pale Gold
  • Poured clear with a half inch of white foam. Retention was below average with some intermittent lacing.

    Aroma might have some citrus hops but that is more because I know they are supposed to be in there. Realistically I get more earth and hop resin than expected. Maybe the earth comes from the malt too.

    Taste follows the nose but has some big bitterness in the finish that doesn't seem to be attached to any type of hop I can put my finger on.

    A light body but with quite a big carbonation.

    This is definitely an old bottle in spite of it saying it is good through September 17, 2010. It is okay in terms of drinkability but there is a strange funk at the end. Another IPA that needs to be drank fresh to be fair. Enjoy!
  • 732 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 22, 2010 at 22:13:28
  • Tasted: Thursday, July 22, 2010
  • $1.99 for 12 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.849)
    over 119,333 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.99, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping