Log in Join now
Double Jack - Firestone Walker Brewing Co.

Double Jack

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 9.29/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.26 or 2.84%

Trend: 9.29/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 9.50%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

360 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 3.12% Color: Pale Gold
  • A: Pure clear, perfect golden liquid. Soft, white, small bubble foam head.

    S: 50/50 fruit and pine scents. Saw reference to pineapple and mint, don't know about that, but the scents are deeply complex. The suggestions of one or another aroma sends me back to the rim of the glass to sniff away and I seem to get wiffs of th suggestions.

    T: The use of the word balance proabaly is overused, but in this brew it's an understatement. The malt sweetness and hop profile come together about as perfect as I've ever tasted. Both contribute a stromng presence. On the hop side, a oily complex pine
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 24, 2011 at 23:30:27
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 24, 2011
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,173 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 9.64/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 3.77% Color: Deep Gold
  • Pours clear into my snifter with minimal white head that is short lived. Lacing is spotty, yet sticky.

    Aroma is huge on the hops: pine, fruit, and citrus.
    WOW! Some sweetness to the malt but the hops scents are definitely the center piece to this beer.

    Taste is slightly sweet but there is some form of hop presence throughout. Fruit comes first, then pine comes strong in the middle, with citrus and slight fruit making up the end. There is a bitterness that builds as you go, but it is never really lasting or over the top unbalanced. The bitterness actually suits the beer well.

    Medium body with a light carbonation that is surprising for a DIPA.

    Okay, this is my first one of these out of the bottle but my third overall as I have had two on tap. This has quickly snuck up into the top echelon of DIPAs for me. If the ABV wasn't so high, I wouldn't mind throwing back a few as the hop profile is spot on perfect.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 24, 2011 at 23:18:16
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 24, 2011
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 9.24/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.54% Color: 6
  • Another winner! Pours a rich golden honey color. Mellow head with nice lacing.

    The aroma is so rich and addictive. A nice balance between pine hops and fruit. Has a little bit of a spicy scent.

    Wonderful first sip on this beer. A really full flavored beer. Very smooth and refreshing. Again the balance between the pine hops and the citrus hops is perfect. I am getting more of a pine hops up front that works it's way into a citrus hop on the back end.

    This beer is an instant classic. Would I have another?? Hell YES! This a damn tasty beer. Try one!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 24, 2011 at 23:13:45
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 24, 2011
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle