Total Domination IPA - Ninkasi Brewing Company

Total Domination IPA

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.81/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.43 or 5.49%

Trend: 7.81/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American India Pale Ale

ABV: 6.70%

IBU: 65

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.43% Color: 9
  • Translucent amber. Goldish clingy amber with nice bubble. Citrus aroma with some sweetness?

    More bitter than I imagined, some tang on the back end. A little top heavy on the bitter, slight watery finish.
  • 207 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 24, 2011 at 21:28:17
  • Tasted: Thursday, March 24, 2011
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,469 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 7.22/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 7.55% Color: Light Amber
  • Pours clear with a quarter inch of white foam. Retention and lacing are not much of a factor.

    Aroma is minor all around. Some combination or part of pine, citrus, and/or floral hops with a small addition of malt.

    Taste is bitterness up front and citrus that lingers, like a red grapefruit. Very minor sweet followed by a mix of something like wine: maybe yellow apple and/or pear.

    Light on the mouth with low carbonation, the beer dries out the palate.

    After having Tricerahops as my introduction to Ninkasi beers, I was expecting this beer to be another hop bomb in sheep's clothing. I was wrong. This beer is very interesting from the hops bring up front in the taste, to the interesting mix of flavors in the middle. Enjoy!
  • 736 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 24, 2011 at 21:19:28
  • Tasted: Thursday, March 24, 2011
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.22/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 5.25% Color: Medium Amber
  • Pours a nice golden amber with white frothy head that dissipates quickly, very little lacing.

    Aroma is interesting. Weak, but enjoyable. I get citrus hops with a little bit of pine hops.

    Taste is interesting as well. Lots of bitterness up front mixed with citrus. As Rich commented, its a lot like eating grapefruit. It has a spicy bitter bite when it first hits the tongue. Finishes smooth and dry.

    Very different beer, but in a good way. The more I drink it the more it grows on me.
  • 494 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 24, 2011 at 21:14:37
  • Tasted: Thursday, March 24, 2011
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.728)
    over 91,720 ratings
Beer Swapping