Wytchmaker - Jester King Craft Brewery

Wytchmaker

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.69/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.1 or 1.24%

Trend: 7.69/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American India Pale Ale

ABV: 6.50%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 7.60/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 1.17% Color: 9
  • Aroma- Great! A mix of great hops. Floral and resining. The hops are listed on the bottle and I notice the cascade and mix of amarillo and simcoe. The last hops being warrior and centennial. The centennial I don't notice as much and the warrior is for bittering, but these are great hops and bringing them together is a winning combination.

    Look- Great golden color- tight bubbles- 'effervescent'.

    Taste- Huh. Rye is there, but not as prominent as I imagined. Slightest spicyness to the malt bill. Malt bill is... not prominent at all. Not what I imagined a rye-ish beer would be like. Not what I thought an APA would be like. It's sort of so.... middle of the road- it doesn't commit to anyone thing. It's fine- drinkable- good. Maybe forgettable?

    I do like the aroma despite what others said! ;)

    I would drink this beer again, but it would be like... "Oh yeah- it's fine."
  • 905 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 19, 2012 at 21:41:11
  • Tasted: Thursday, January 19, 2012
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 7.64/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.65% Color: Amber-Brown
  • Pours a clear golden brown color with a huge white fluffy head. Lots of retention on the head. Very effervescent. Thick watery lacing that sheets down the sides of the glass.

    The aroma is floral, perfume, slightly earthy with a powder like feel on the nose. Sweet scents tickle the nose on this beer.

    The taste is somewhat muted in comparison to the aroma. I detect some bitter hops as well as a perfume hop, grains which is probably the rye showing, with a bit of slightly bitter citrus hops on the finish.

    Medium body with medium to higher carbonation. Mouth feel is creamy but finishes with a prickly finish.

    Overall this is a very unusual beer for me. The taste and aroma is very unique. The perfume hops in both the aroma and the taste make this beer unique and interesting as I don't think that I have ever had a beer quite like this one. Enjoyable and unique, but not an everyday drinker for me.
  • 915 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 19, 2012 at 21:41:03
  • Tasted: Thursday, January 19, 2012
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle
1,422 beers rated with a 7.86 average
  • 7.82/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 1.69% Color: Dark Gold
  • Pours clear with heaping amounts of white, fluffy, yet dense foam. Retention is outer worldly, becoming bumpy on top. Lacing is thick but slides back rather quickly. Effervescent.

    Aroma has floral and perfume that jumps. Earth scents follow accompanied by sweet and cardamom from the rye.

    Taste is sweet up front with it riding slightly throughout. Rye flavors come in, taking over in the middle through the end. Perfume hops ramp up towards the end, lingering with hints of floral.

    Medium body and medium carbonation that hold up the beer.

    The perfumey hop profile isn't my favorite but the rye adds a nice complexity. There is a nice balance that can be tasted with minimal bitterness yet finishes clean. Enjoy!
  • 725 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 19, 2012 at 21:38:22
  • Tasted: Thursday, January 19, 2012
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle
Untappd
  • (3.855)
    over 13,180 ratings
Beer Notes
  • India Pale Ale brewed with nearly three pounds of hops per barrel and 15% malted rye. Dry, flavorful, drinkable beer with vibrant notes of citrus, tropical fruit and pine.
Beer Swapping
Malts
  • Organic Two Row, Malted Rye, Carapils
Hops
  • Warrior, Cascade, Centennial, Falconer's Flight
Yeast
  • English Dry Ale