Julius - Tree House Brewing Company

Julius

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 9.18/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.29 or 3.16%

Trend: 9.18/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American India Pale Ale

ABV: 6.80%

Season: Occasional

Have Another: 100%

370 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 8.89/10 have another
  • A: 8.9 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.1 | M: 8.9 | O: 8.9
  • sDev: 3.16% Color: 9
  • Canning date:08/01/22

    A: Hazed Pale Amber. No floaters, just misty hazy that blocks view across the glass. Small soft white bubbles, of average retention time. Typical look of a good hazy beer.

    S: First impression is of a citrus orchard. The citrus aroma is definitely of oranges. Then a mash up of tropical flavors. And a light sweet grass note. The smell invites a taste.

    T: Full tasty mouthfeel and citrus fruit blast. Great balance of hops and malts. Very low bitterness on the back end. Very tasty and matches the aroma.

    O: The Tree House hazy IPA's are benchmarks for the style. I agree with the brewer that it's not overpowering but is loaded with hop fruitiness. The only knock is these beers should be consumed as close as possible to canning date for optimal tasing experience. At 60 days out, it's hard for a consumer far from the brewery to truly know the beer, and that seems like a consideration before heaping extreme adoration on this well praised brewery.
  • 976 characters
  • Reviewed: Monday, October 03, 2022 at 21:30:32
  • Tasted: Monday, October 03, 2022
  • $0.00 for 16 oz. can
1,463 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 9.47/10 have another
  • A: 9.5 | T: 9.6 | L: 8.9 | M: 9.2 | O: 9.5
  • sDev: 3.16% Color: Orange
  • This review allows for tenth scale ratings, which allows me to be more precise. Not much different than I remember.

    I would say the carbonation is at the light end of medium, at best. Aroma is solid but more norm for NEIPAs rather than the exception. When I initially tried the beer I didn't have much to compare it to.

    Great beer. Enjoy!
  • 346 characters
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, July 04, 2018 at 14:26:04
  • Tasted: Wednesday, July 04, 2018
  • $2.50 for 16 oz. can
  • 9.88/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • sDev: 7.63% Color: Orange
  • Very hazy pour. Opaque. Couple of fingers of head. Great retention, lacing follows.

    Huge aroma. Mango, orange, pineapple and passion fruit. Dank. Bread/biscuit malt seeps through for balance.

    The taste doesn't veer far from the aroma. Biscuit grains are more pronounced. Tropical hop profile bursts in the mouth but is slightly subdued compared with the aroma. Smooth, fruity, mildly dry finish without much bitterness. Balanced though.

    Medium body with light end of medium carbonation. Still enough mouth feel to hold up the beer. Complex hop profile.

    Aroma just doesn't go to 11, it goes to 14. Easily my new favorite beer for the "new profile" of American IPAs. Still can't believe the neighbor brought me back a six pack from his vacation not knowing what he had. Enjoy!
  • 803 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, August 09, 2016 at 07:29:56
  • Tasted: Tuesday, August 09, 2016
  • $2.50 for 16 oz. can
Untappd
  • (4.489)
    over 145,775 ratings
Beer Notes
  • Bursting with 1.6 oz per gallon of American hops, Julius is loaded with notes of passionfruit, mango, and citrus. At 6.5% alcohol, it is refreshing and freakishly drinkable.
Cost Breakdown
  • $2.50, 1 serving(s), 16 oz. cans
Beer Swapping