Log in Join now
Shipwreck Porter - Arcadia Brewing Company

Shipwreck Porter

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 9.09/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.15 or 1.65%

Trend: 9.09/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Baltic Porter

ABV: 12.00%

Season: January through March

Have Another: 100%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 8.94/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 1.65% Color: Deep Brown
  • A: Deep, deep brown and normal head.

    S: Light roast, molasses, toffee, and some bourbon. Pretty enticing

    T: Real nice. Real interesting and complex taste upfront. Initial taste has a ton of notes all played at once. I get a quick mix of dark cherry, richly toasted malt, and soft, vanilla bourbon. Very well carbonated. The 12% abv present but accentuates but doesnt overhelm.

    D: Balance and complexity mixed with rich and inviting flavors. A total surprise in how well crafted this brew is. Obviously not a session brew, but would make an excellent dessert finish to any food pairing. And not too heavy for year round consumption...as long as long as taken in measured dosages. Really good.
  • 694 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 24, 2010 at 23:45:41
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 24, 2010
  • $11.29 for 22 oz. bottle
1,217 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 9.24/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 1.65% Color: Black
  • Poured as black as night. A inch of light brown, frothy foam that had limited retention leaving a thin coating on top of the liquid. Retention is sticky and thin but leaves a nice sheet of foam around the glass.

    Aroma is brown sugar with a pleasant bourbon and vanilla bringing up the rear quickly. Dark roasted malt finds it way too.

    Taste has plenty of bourbon goodness with a burn going down and, way down. Brown sugar adds a nice swell of balance to the beer. Dark fruits (prunes) have their beginnings while the roasted malt is a small player. Vanilla finish is good stuff.

    A big, thick body with a solid carbonation. Creamy and dry with some heat packing a bit of a punch.

    Wow, my socks were knocked off. I wasn't too happy when I co-worker brought this back from a recent MI trip. I have to apologize: this beer is really well done. Now I am hoping he goes back so a second can sit in the cellar. A quality beer that is a must for anyone that is a connoisseur of bourbon beers. Enjoy!
  • 1,007 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 24, 2010 at 23:44:22
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 24, 2010
  • $11.29 for 22 oz. bottle