Log in Join now
Invasion - Half Acre Beer Company

Invasion

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.57/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.42 or 5.53%

Trend: 7.57/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Maibock/Helles Bock

ABV: 6.50%

Season: One-Time

Have Another: 67%

1,271 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 7.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 7.53% Color: Pale Gold
  • Collaboration between Half Acre and Three Floyds.

    Poured with a bit of a chill haze. Minimal head, lacing, and retention. Nothing crazy in the glass.

    Aroma is sweet malt up front. Honey (a touch), lightly toasted grain, and floral hops round out the scent. Interesting and probably deeper than I am mentioning.

    Taste is spicey, almost pepper in the finish that stays on the tongue rather than bitterness. The yeast is there with some bread and even cereal type of malt profile.

    Body is very light with minimal carbonation.

    There is a lot going on with this beer. It is complex, yet light with good sweetness and not syrupy. Enjoy!
  • 642 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 16, 2010 at 21:26:08
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 16, 2010
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 5.68% Color: 4
  • Aroma, malty/sweet, with yeasty complexity in the background. Sweet and malty, just like it tastes. Spice complexity on the finish. Almost 'syrupy', which is interesting. When you hit 'syrupy', it's gross and hard to drink. This is about as close to that in sweetness as it can get and not go over. It's very complicated, and if you drink it slowly you take the time to appreciate that point. As I drink it I'm finding more and more trace items to consider. I appreciate it. I dunno if I 'like' it, but it merits the numbers it gets.
  • 542 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 16, 2010 at 21:24:49
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 16, 2010
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
367 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 7.70/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 1.72% Color: Pale Gold
  • A: Nice deep pale gold with a tad of haze. Normal white, small bubbles of low retention.

    S: Perfumey floral and malt sweetness. Maybe a tad of banana and a very little orange.

    T: Interesting floral/fruit notes then malt sweetness, and breadiness. Medium mouthfeel, a fair amount of carbonation. Subtle yet present hoppiness.

    D: A sassy/spicy lager, that's decently balanced for a very unique version of Helles Bock. I've had some of versions of the style that are overly sweet or whacky. I like this beer, it a very good utility player, just not a super star...but then again teams with util players.
  • 603 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 16, 2010 at 21:21:44
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 16, 2010
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle